88°

How to protect your WhatsApp Account if your Phone is Lost? – Security Update & More

Here are some important updates on WhatsApp Security "Login Approval" and ways to protect your account if your lost your phone.

by Akansha_B Updated: 09 Aug, 2022, 16:03 IST
0 530

No smartphone owner wants to experience the agony of losing their phone. You don't want to risk losing the essential files, photographs, and other things you have on your phone. Your WhatsApp chats that you don't want other people to view or read are as valuable. Here, we provide ideas on how to prevent unauthorized access to your WhatsApp account in the event that your phone is stolen or lost.

https://cdn0.desidime.com/attachments/photos/794999/medium/5.jpg?1659967963

How to protect your WhatsApp Account if your Phone is Lost?

Follow the following steps to protect your Whatsapp Account - 

1. Lock your Sim Card

Calling your mobile network operator should be your first move if you lose your phone. It's critical to let your mobile network operator know so that nobody else may call or text from your number. This will also ensure no one is able to verify your account via call or message using that phone again.

2. Activate WhatsApp on a new phone

The quickest method to deactivate your WhatsApp account on a stolen or lost phone is to reactivate it using the same number on a new SIM card. As social media software can only be used on one device at a time, this will block WhatsApp on your older phone.

3. Email WhatsApp

In an email to WhatsApp, you can also request that your account be deactivated because you've lost access to your phone. You can also send an email to WhatsApp with the phrase ‘Lost/Stolen: Please deactivate my account" in the body of the email.

Make sure to provide your mobile phone number so the WhatsApp staff can reach you in case of emergency.

4. Restore chat history

If you turned on automatic backup, you can recover your WhatsApp conversations and media by restoring chat backup from Google Drive, iCloud, or OneDrive. Notably, deactivating WhatsApp does not entirely destroy your account. Your profile image will continue to be visible to all of your phone's stored contacts. They have the ability to send messages, which can be pending for up to 30 days.

WhatsApp ‘login approval’ feature to help prevent hacking

https://cdn0.desidime.com/attachments/photos/794998/medium/image.png?1659967880

Meta Platform Inc.'s WhatsApp is trying to add a new feature called "login approval" to further improve security measures for its users and prevent attacks and data breaches. This new function will aid in preventing the theft of WhatsApp accounts.

The user would receive in-app notifications through WhatsApp's "login feature" when a third party (or hacker) tries to log in to their account, according to the article. As a result, the functionality will give another level of protection to the instant messaging service and prevent account theft.

Users will be able to protect themselves from possible fraudsters thanks to this new safety feature, which is suitable for multi-device users.

First reply poster
Be the first one to share your thoughts
replyuser
Click here to reply
Reply